INSTRUCTIONS FOR GENERAL & LIMITED BLASTER’S LICENSE APPLICATION

1. Complete Form EC-16, “Application for General or Limited Kentucky Blaster’s License,” and have it notarized.  Give your permanent home address.

2. Have your employer, powder company representative, or someone knowledgeable of your experience complete and sign the Form EC-17, “Affidavit.”  This information must pertain to the person that is verifying the experience of the applicant.

3. Submit a color photograph of the applicant alone, sufficiently recent to be a good likeness. The photo should be at least 2” x 2” and no more than 3” x 5” in size, with an image of the face from the chin to top of the head (including hair). The applicant’s name should be printed on the back.         
4. The examination is given in the Frankfort DMRE Office, Monday through Friday with an appointment. It is also given at the following DMRE Regional Offices by APPOINTMENT ONLY:


London




606-330-2090



Madisonville



270-824-7536


Middlesboro



606-248-6166


Pikeville



606-433-7726


Prestonsburg



606-889-1746

5. Study material for this examination is a booklet entitled “Laws and Regulations Governing Explosives and Blasting” and “Study Guide”.  You may call the Division of Explosives and Blasting at 502-782-6754 for these books.  The charge for these books is $5.00 each.

6. When you are ready to take the examination, you will need to have: 
(1) The completed set of forms EC-16, EC-17
(2) A photograph 

(3) A company, cashiers or certified check or money order for the $40 exam fee                                                                                                                                         

(4) Another certified, cashier’s or company check or money order will need to be mailed to The Division of Explosives and Blasting for the $25 license fee after the license test has been passed.

All company, certified or cashiers checks and money orders
 must be made payable to the Kentucky State Treasurer.

7. In the event that you fail the examination, you will be able to retake the examination in thirty (30) days.

NOTICE

Effective immediately, the blaster will have to obtain their own background check, as done by either an ATF possessor or handler background check, or through the Administrative Office of the Courts in Frankfort, Kentucky, before a license can be issued. The ATF background check is preferred; however, if you live in KY (if you reside outside of the state, an AOC is not valid) and would like to obtain the AOC check, this request shall be submitted on a form provided by the Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC).  The required form and instructions on how to obtain the AOC check can be obtained by contacting the Division of Explosives and Blasting in Frankfort at 502-782-6754, or visiting our website at http://www. dmre.ky.gov/eandb/.

